HomeTech and TelecomE-office system to be activated in all ministries

E-office system to be activated in all ministries

In a bid to digitise the governance process, the incumbent government has introduced E-Office in 31 ministries, while activation of online application was pending in the 11 remaining ministries due to the non-availability of required infrastructure.

“E-office systems had so far been implemented in 31 ministries, including 48 departments, out of a total of 42 ministries,” said an official of the Ministry of Information Technology and Telecommunication.

“Only 11 ministries and divisions of the federal government have yet to adopt the e-office system, but they are committed to its implementation by the end of next year,” he stated.

The delay in the implementation of e-office systems in the leftover ministries was due to the unavailability of required infrastructure in several ministries and departments, as many of their officers were working in rented and temporary accommodations.

The procurement of the required infrastructure was in the process and would hopefully be completed by the end of the next year.

The National Information Technology Board (NITB), a department of the Ministry of Information Technology and Telecom­muni­ca­tions, is mandated to undertake e-government initiatives at federal ministries, divisions and departments, including an e-office system which helps set-ups shift from manual to a paperless electronic system.

The e-filing system in the e-office programme enables the electronic movement and tracking of files with the archival and retrieval of data.

Stay Connected


Must Read

Related News

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: